Traditions across Europe-an eTwinning project

“Science and technology revolutionize our lives, but memory, TRADITION and myth frame our response.” (Arthur Schlesinger Jr.)

State Folk Group of Song and Dance ‘Mazowsze’ – Poland May 19, 2008

Filed under: dances,traditional songs — ligregni @ 9:29 pm
Tags:

Mazowsze is a famous Polish folk group which has been performing since 1948. It was created to maintain regional artistic traditions, songs and dances of Masovia, (Mazowsze in Polish), a region of Poland, but later the group included repertoire from other Polish regions of Central Poland.
Official site of the group (in English)

Wyszłabym za dziada

I would marry an old man

Już mi się doprawdy panieństwo sprzykrzyło
I got really tired of my maidenhood
Wyszłabym za dziada, żeby się trafiło
I would marry an old man if he happened to me
Oj córuś,oj córuś nie wychodź za dziada
My daughter, my daughter don’t marry an old man
Ni na dzień, ni na noc, on ci się nie nada.
Neither during the day nor at night he will be of use
Matulu dajże mi Jasieńka mojego
Mother, give me my Johnny
Kocha mnie, młody jest. I ja kocham jego
he loves me and he is young. And I love him
Jeść mu ugotuję. Buzie ucałuję.
I will cook food for him, I will kiss his face
Pościelę łóżeczko jak pieścidełeczko
I will make his bed with affection
Myślisz ty córusiu że za chłopem dobrze
Daughter, you think that with a man life is good
Za chłopem trza robić aż się skóra podrze.
With a man one has to work very hard till the skin tears.
Matulu, matulu co wy powiadacie
Mother mother what are you saying
wyśta chłopa mieli całą skórę macie….”
You have had a man and you have all the skin

Dwa serduszka
Two hearts

Dwa serduszka cztery oczy ojo joj!
Two hearts four eyes
Co płakały we dnie nocy ojo joj!
That were crying by day and at night
Czarne oczka co płaczecie
Black eyes that are crying
Że się spotkać nie możecie
That you can’t meet
Że się spotkać nie możecie
That you can’t meet
Oj jo joj!

Dziwna zazdrość starych ludzi ojo joj!
A strange jealousy of old people
Wiek zgrzybiały to ich nudzi ojo joj!
At advanced age that bores them
Sami o miłość nie dbają
They themselves don’t care about love
Młodym kochać zabraniają
They forbid young people to love
Młodym kochać zabraniają
They forbid young people to love
Oj jo joj!

Mnie matula zakazała ojo joj!
My mother forbade me
Żebym chłopca nie kochała ojo joj!
to love the boy
Kamienną bym być musiała
I would have to be of stone
Żebym chłopca nie kochała
not to love the boy
Żebym chłopca nie kochała
not to love the boy
Oj jo joj!

Kiedy chłopak hoży miły ojo joj!
When the boy is robust and nice
I któż by miał tyle siły ojo joj!
And who would have so much strength
Kamienne by serce było
The heart would be of stone
Żeby chłopca nie lubiło
Not to like the boy
Żeby chłopca nie lubiło
Not to like the boy
Oj jo joj!

Mnie matula zakazała ojo joj!
My mother forbade me
żebym chłopca nie kochała ojo joj!
to love the boy
A ja chłopca chaps! za szyje
And I snapped at the boy’s neck
Będę kochać póki żyje
I will love till I die
Będę kochać póki żyję
I will love till I die
oj jo joj!

Gimnazjum nr 18, Poland

 

2 Responses to “State Folk Group of Song and Dance ‘Mazowsze’ – Poland”

  1. Gina Says:

    Hi!
    My class 5A(primary school) children enjoyed very much the colourful costumes and the lovely dances!
    Wonderfull work!
    GINA

  2. Łowiczanka Says:

    There are now a lot of great video clips of Mazowsze and Śląsk on YouTube,
    http://www.youtube.com/user/PersiaFasahl#p/a
    including new 2010 performances, and clips going back as far as 1952 from their TV performances, and a few from the Mazowsze film, A Wife for the Australian (Żona Dla Australijczyka), which is full of Mazowsze performances. It’s a 1964 screwball comedy about a guy who goes to Poland to find a wife and falls in love with a singer from Mazowsze. Mistakenly believing that she’d find it romantic to be kidnapped, he does just that !
    Meanwhile, I have posted several YouTube clips on my blog about their performances around the world.
    http://lowiczanka.wordpress.com/2010/08/22/around-the-world-with-mazowsze/
    This blog is all about the songs they sing when they tour other countries… songs from those countries.


Leave a Reply

