Traditions across Europe-an eTwinning project

“Science and technology revolutionize our lives, but memory, TRADITION and myth frame our response.” (Arthur Schlesinger Jr.)

What do families do during school holidays ? March 19, 2008

Filed under: How we spend our holidays — philjohnson @ 5:58 pm
Tags: ,

Our children wrote about what they did during the last school holidays. Sometimes the day might have been spent visiting grandparents or playing in the local park but they usually have one special day during each vacation when the whole family might spend some “quality time” together. Here are a few of their stories:

Last week was half term. I am going to write about a super day out. On Wednesday I went to Weelock Farm. I went with my mum, sister and Bryn’s mum and two sisters. While we were there we saw some animals such as cows and played in the park. My favourite part was when I went in the park. I wish I could go there again. Adam

 

I am going to write about a super day out. On Tuesday I went to the community farm, I went with my mum and my brother. While we were there we saw farm animals such as pigs, cows, goats and sheep. When it was time to come home I felt sad. The best thing about today was feeding the goats. I hope I go again because it was exciting, fabulous and fantastic. Next time we have a break from school I would like to go again. By Brandon

 

On Wednesday my family and I went to Great Yarmouth and it was fun because we went to the swimming baths but the water was cold. My dad said “oh, this water is as cold as an ice cube.” Then on Friday I went to my mum to ask her if I can go to Alton Towers. She said “only if you do your room”. And I ran up stairs and I tidied my room. Then on Saturday I went to the African Zoo and I saw the rhino but my brother was poorly. So we had to go back to the caravan. By Chelsey

 

In the half term holidays my mum and I went to my Aunty Jane’s for a little bit and I said to Lucy “do you want to sleep?”. Lucy said “yes please” so we went to my house and played in the back garden. But Lucy fell over and I said “are you OK?” she said “yes I am OK”. As soon as we started to play my mum shouted us in for tea. Lucy said to me “what are we having? I said chips and peas and fish Lucy said “yum yum”. I said to Lucy “look at the time.” Lucy said “it is 7 o’clock.” My Mum said I had to go to bed. “OK” I said. The next morning we went to Aunty Jane’s again. Aunty Jane said to me “do you want to sleep” and I said “yes please.” The next day I said “goodbye and thank you for letting me sleep.” The next day my Mum took me to the park. I went on the swings and everything else. It was fun but when I got home I said “I am going to bed for over 5 hours.” By Caitlin

 

I am going to write about a super day out. On Tuesday I went to MacDonald’s. I went with my mum, nanny, cousin, 3 sisters and me. While we were there we all had a micflurry. When it was time to go home I felt unhappy and miserable. The best part about the day was that my nanny bought me a new Nokia phone from Argos and she bought us each a happy meal from MacDonald’s. I hope I go there again because it is an exiting and amazing place. It was even better than going to youth club. I would describe the day as fun and exiting. Next time I have a break from school I would like to go to Alton Towers, it would be great if I could take Mac and Tilly with me. When I was at McDonalds I wished that I could go there every day and I asked if I could go tomorrow but she said no and I kept on saying it. I said please mum please but she kept on saying no. The next minute she said yes I said thank you mum. I said to my mum I love you loads because you’re the best mum in the world. By Geri

 

On Friday I went to Manchester Airport. I went with my mum and dad and sisters. While we were there we watched the planes take off and land. When it was time to go home I felt sad. The best thing about the day was watching the jets go off. I hope I go there again because it was brilliant. It was even better than going to Blackpool. By Bryn

 

Last week it was half term and it was my cousin’s birthday and he invited me to his party. Here are a few things which I did with my mum and dad. On Sunday we went to the swimming baths, while we were there we splashed about and it was fun because I was learning to swim. The best part was that I swam a bit. On Tuesday my mum and dad took us to the Brewster’s pub. When we got there all we did is play but I was scared of going down the pink slide. When I got home I went into my bed and fell asleep. When I woke up I went down to see my friend Jay and I played with him. By Jordan

 

Last week it was half term. I’m going to write about a superb day out. On Sunday I went to Westport Lake. I went with Simon, Ryan, Reece and my dad. While we were there we played on the round about. Then it was time to go home I felt tired and I went to watch a film and then I went to bed. The best bit of the day was the chair because it spins around really fast. I hope I go there again because I like feeding the ducks. It was even better than going to the cinema because I nearly fell asleep. I would describe the day as exciting & fantastic. Next time we have a break from school I would like to go to Blackpool. It would be amazing to take Ryan and Simon with me and when I’m older I would like to be a teacher. By Liam

 

One super day I went to Argos and got a game called Super Mario Brothers and my sister got a toy. I went with my dad and Mum, I saw a big toy in the book but they did not have it in the shop. The best part of the day was going home and playing on my new game, it was lots of fun. I also visited my nanna in her bungalow. By Robert

 

One Response to “What do families do during school holidays ?”

  1. ligregni Says:

    I think all these works are very very sweet!!!!! I really enjoyed reading them.


Leave a Reply

